Man Delivers Baby After Pulling Off Eisenhower Expressway


CBS Chicago

CHICAGO (CBS) — A man delivered his own baby daughter Monday morning, after his wife went into labor along the Eisenhower Expressway on the way to the hospital.

Javier Sanchez was driving his wife, Maria Estrada, to the hospital early Monday, when she told him she couldn’t wait. Sanhez pulled off the Eisenhower at the Austin exit, and their baby was born moments later.

“I’m on the highway. I come off. I’m trying to make it to the hospital, but I can’t. The baby’s come out,” he said.

Sanchez said he was holding his baby girl, Camela Ruiz Estrada, as he called 911 for help.

“I have my baby. I hold it. So I call the paramedics, and they come fast away,” he said.

Paramedics took the mother and baby to West Suburban Medical Center in Oak Park, where they were both in good condition. Camela weighed a little more…

View original post 3 more words

Leave a Reply

